Virginia’s reckless driving laws

Virginia, perhaps, has the strictest laws. Reckless driving in Virginia is considered a serious offense and can easily land you in jail, if not dealt with properly. While it can be very easy to be slapped with a reckless driving conviction, it can be very difficult to fight such claims without the help of a professional lawyer or attorney.

How can you avoid getting charged with reckless driving?

Reckless driving is a diversified crime and a simple speeding ticket can easily turn into charges of reckless driving without you having little to no knowledge. The key to avoid attracting a reckless driving charge is to start by understanding the laws that govern reckless driving in Virginia.

Virginia’s laws regarding reckless driving:

In Virginia, reckless driving is considered as a diverse crime and there are driving behaviors that can put you over the radar for reckless driving. There are 14 types of driving behaviors associated with reckless driving:

  1. Code §46.2-862(i) & (ii): A driver can be convicted on basis of reckless driving by going 20 mph over the defined speed limit or by driving over 80 mph.
  2. Code § 46.2-861: Driving at or below the determined speed can also be considered as reckless driving in the event that the road conditions are unsafe for that speed.
  3. Code § 46.2-852: Driving behavior on a public road that could affect “life, limb, or property” is considered as reckless driving.
  4. Code § 46.2-864: Driving behavior on private property open to the public and on public roads under construction that could affect “life, limb, or property” is considered as reckless driving.
  5. Code §46.2-859: Overtaking or passing a school bus that is flashing signs while it is stopped to unload or load passengers.
  6. Code § 46.2-853: Diving a vehicle that is not well-maintained, out of control or has faulty brakes.
  7. Code § 46.2-855: Obstruction of driver’s front or side view when driving with passengers.
  8. Code § 46.2-854: Overtaking/passing a car on a steep curve, the crest of a hill or when the view of the oncoming traffic is obstructed.
  9. Code §46.2-856: Driving shoulder-to-shoulder, or driving in the oncoming traffic lane on a highway with two or more lanes.
  10. Code § 46.2-857: When two vehicles that are traveling in the same lane and one vehicle passes the other without leaving the original lane.
  11. Code § 46.2-858: Passing a vehicle at a railroad crossing or when a pedestrian is crossing.
  12. Code § 46.2-860: Failure to give the proper signal when turning, slowing down or stopping.
  13. Code § 46.2-863: Cutting off a vehicle on the highway while entering from a side road without a yield sign.
  14. Code § 46.2-865: Racing other vehicles on private property open to the public or on public property.